IN Our People
Lawrence appointed to board of directors of NZTR
Taylor Strong | March 09, 2022

Dean Lawrence appointed to board of directors of New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing

By Tayler Strong

Dean Lawrence, a life member of the Otago Racing Club and former president, has been appointed to the board of directors of New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing. Lawrence, a Dunedin-based fiscal advisor to the International Monetary Fund, has been involved in thoroughbred racing as an owner and administrator for several years. He was president of the ORC for three years from 2012. He was in the ownership of Lismore Lad, winner of the 1992 New Zealand Grand National Steeplechase and  his horse Flying Agent, won  the $150,000 Brierly Steeplechase at Warrnambool last year. Flying Agent won two flat races when trained at Wingatui by Brian and Shane Anderton. Lawrence was in the Woolshed Wednesday syndicate that raced Perceptible, winner of the 2002 group three White Robe Lodge Handicap from the Anderton stable. “I rated Gallant Defender highly but he went amiss after winning three races,” said Lawrence.

Lawrence and Andrew Flexman have replaced Darryll Park, of Christchurch and Bruce Sharrock on the board of NZTR. Sharrock was recently appointed as CEO of NZTR and takes up that role on April 4. Flexman is a Cambridge-based investment advisor and former lawyer and sports administrator. The appointments for a three-year term are made by the Members’ Council comprising representatives of all parties involved in thoroughbred racing. Other members of the board are Cameron George (chairman), Jason Fleming, Mike Clarke, Bruce Sherwin, and Andrew Fairgray.

NZTR has a statutory objective to develop and promote racing under the Racing Industry Act 2020. It is responsible for governance of  62 clubs racing on 51 tracks and its day-to-day responsibilities include the compilation of race fields, licensing of personnel, maintaining the Stud Book and horse registrations